Back to media

Media Releases

Icon speaker

Irene Brunner new SSPA committee member

The Committee of the Swiss Structured Product Association SSPA has elected Irene Brunner, BNP Paribas, to succeed Thomas Schmidlin on the SSPA Committee effective 1 July 2019. Irene Brunner brings wide-ranging international sector and association experience to the SSPA. In the capacity of Committee member and Deputy Chairman, Thomas Schmidlin has worked hard over the past five years to boost the acceptance of structured products. 


Zurich, 25 June 2019. As Head of Exchange Traded Solutions Switzerland at BNP Paribas, Irene Brunner has been responsible since 2018 for the distribution and marketing of structured retail products in Switzerland. Prior to this, she gathered many years of experience of structured products inter alia as Managing Director at the Royal Bank of Scotland and at Deutsche Bank. Irene Brunner chairs the Categorisation Committee at the European Structured Investment Products Association (EUSIPA), is a member of the Structured Products Advisory Board (SPAB) at SIX Swiss Exchange and was previously a member of the SSPA Committee from 2011 to 2012. “We are very pleased to welcome Irene back to the Committee. Her almost two decades of international experience on the issuer side is a valuable asset for the Association,” said Georg von Wattenwyl, SSPA Chairman. Irene Brunner on her new Committee responsibilities: “Regulatory changes and digitalisation will challenge our sector in the coming years. The SSPA is helping to master these challenges: by acting collectively and by raising standardisation and awareness for our products and our sector.”

Thomas Schmidlin was a member of the Committee since 2014, since 2017 as Deputy Chairman. With great commitment, he deployed new approaches and instruments to boost awareness and the acceptance of structured products amongst the SSPA’s target groups. In spring, Thomas Schmidlin took the decision to pursue a new career opportunity and to step down from the SSPA Committee as soon as a successor had been found. “We greatly valued the contributions made by Thomas to the work of the Association, as his broad specialist expertise and tremendous commitment contributed significantly to improving the acceptance of our products. We wish Thomas much success in his professional and private life,” said Georg von Wattenwyl.

SSPA Committee members as at 1 July 2019 are Georg von Wattenwyl (Chairman, Bank Vontobel), Adrian Steinherr (UBS), Valentin Vonder Mühll (Pictet), Sylveline Besson (CA Indosuez Wealth Management), David Schmid (Leonteq) and Irene Brunner (BNP Paribas).

Important information

Please be aware that all the information on this website is for educational purposes only and does not represent real offerings. If you would like to obtain a real price or purchase a Structured Product, please contact your financial advisor or one of the SSPA member banks for more information. Have a look at the complete Disclaimer.

This website also uses cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Find out everything about data protection here.


close icon

Data protection

I hereby confirm that I have read the privacy policy.