Back to media

Media Releases

Icon speaker

Valentin Vonder Mühll new SSPA committee member

The committee of the Swiss Structured Products Association SSPA has elected Valentin Vonder Mühll, Bank Julius Baer, as Philipp Rickenbacher’s successor on the SSPA committee with effect from 1 July 2017. Valentin Vonder Mühll is bringing over 23 years of experience of the structured products business into the work of the association. Philipp Rickenbacher, who is resigning, was a member of the committee for around 4 years, during which he contributed significantly towards the SSPA’s positioning as the industry association.

Zurich, 26th June 2017. Valentin Vonder Mühll has worked in the structured products field at Bank Julius Baer since 1994, and experienced the development of structured products in Switzerland at first hand. Thanks to various management positions on the trading side, he has an excellent understanding of the current challenges facing the sector. As Head Structured Products Trading, Valentin has comprehensive international know-how and will contribute his knowledge of the trading side into the discussion. “We are delighted that with Valentin Vonder Mühll we have been able to appoint a long-standing and proven expert to the committee who is set to contribute new aspects to the work of the Association,” declared Georg von Wattenwyl, Chairman of the SVSP. Valentin Vonder Mühll on his new responsibilities on the committee: “The SSPA has in recent years successfully positioned itself as the industry association, and in this capacity, sets new standards. My aim is to create well thought-out solutions for all market stakeholders, in a dynamic environment that is characterised by regulatory developments.”

Philipp Rickenbacher has been a member of the SSPA committee since 2013, latterly as deputy chairman and head of the department members. Under his leadership, the association developed successively to represent the interests of the entire output chain. For example, Philipp established a new membership concept that opened up the Association for buy-side representatives and partners. Phillipp’s decision to step down from the committee was taken on account of his changing responsibilities as Head of Advisory Solutions at Julius Baer since July 2016. “Thanks to his vision and his analytical abilities, the SSPA has developed in recent years into an industry association that is recognised by all stakeholders. Both the committee as well as the members greatly valued his tremendous commitment as well as his remarkable dedication. We wish Philipp much success in his professional career going forward, and are delighted that he will continue to be associated with the industry,” said Georg von Wattenwyl.

SSPA Committee members as at 1 July 2017 are Georg von Wattenwyl (chairman, Bank Vontobel), Jan Schoch (Leonteq), Thomas Schmidlin (Credit Suisse), Adrian Steinherr (UBS) and Valentin Vonder Mühll (Julius Baer).

Important information

Please be aware that all the information on this website is for educational purposes only and does not represent real offerings. If you would like to obtain a real price or purchase a Structured Product, please contact your financial advisor or one of the SSPA member banks for more information. Have a look at the complete Disclaimer.

This website also uses cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. Find out everything about data protection here.


close icon

Data protection

I hereby confirm that I have read the privacy policy.